Currently only residents of Alabama and Mississippi are eligible for the Nurse Practitioner certificate.

The nurse practitioner post-graduate certificate program builds on the graduate level nursing competencies and knowledge base. Nurses who are already prepared at either the master's or doctorate level for roles such as case managers, clinical nurse leaders, nurse administrators, certified nurse-midwives, certified registered nurse anesthetists, clinical nurse specialists and nurse practitioners may apply for the post-graduate certificate program with advanced specialization as a family nurse practitioner. Students in the post-graduate certificate program will enroll in existing nurse practitioner population-focused courses, but they will not be required to complete master’s graduate nursing core courses, such as informatics or theory, or direct care core courses (e.g., advanced pathophysiology [across the lifespan], advanced health assessment [across the lifespan], and advanced pharmacology) if they were completed in a prior master's or doctorate program.

Admission Requirements for the Nurse Practitioner Post-Graduate Certificate

Admission requirements are consistent with those of the Graduate School. Applicants for the nurse practitioner post-graduate certificate will be considered on a competitive basis. Nurses who are interested in the nurse practitioner post-graduate are encouraged to contact the Capstone College of Nursing (CCN) Graduate Recruitment and Retention Liaison.

Currently only residents of Alabama and Mississippi are eligible for the Nurse Practitioner certificate.

The following are requirements for admission:

  • For unconditional admission, a grade point average of at least 3.0 overall (based on a 4.0 grading scale) or 3.0 for the last 60 semester hours of undergraduate work is required.
  • For conditional admission, a grade point average of at least 2.5 overall (based on a 4.0 grading scale) for undergraduate work, and a score of at least 300 on the revised Graduate Record Exam (GRE) OR at least in the 40th percentile on the Miller Analogies Test (MAT) is required.
  • Baccalaureate degree in nursing from an accredited school of nursing is required.
  • Current unencumbered RN licensure in the United States is required.

Post Graduate Certificate: Family Nurse Practitioner Sample Program of Study

Summer 1

NUR 526Evidence-Based Practice Roles and Processes for Nurse Practitioners (3 didactic; 1 clinical (60))4
NUR 586Primary Care for Rural Families I (2 didactic; 2 clinical (150))4

Fall 1

NUR 588Primary Care for Rural Families II (2 didactic; 2 clinical (150))4
Credit Hours Subtotal: 4

Spring 1

NUR 590Primary Care Residency for Rural Families (3 clinical (225))3
Credit Hours Subtotal: 3

The student's transcripts will be assessed for the following course.  In absence of transcript credit, the courses must be completed.

NUR 501Theoretical Models for Advanced Nursing Practice with Rural Populations3
NUR 502Issues in Community Health for Rural Populations2
NUR 503Nursing Informatics in Healthcare3
NUR 505Advanced Health Assessment3
NUR 521Advanced Pharmacology3
NUR 522Human Relations Management3
NUR 529Advanced Pathophysiology3
NUR 580Fiscal Resource Management3