The Honorable Kay Ivey

  • Governor of Alabama
  • Ex Officio President of the Board of Trustees

Trustees, by Congressional District

First District

  • Harris V. Morrissette, Mobile
  • Marietta M. Urquhart, Mobile

Second District

  • Mike Brock, Montgomery
  • W. Davis Malone III, Dothan

Third District

  • J. Steven Roy, Alexander City
  • Kenneth L. Vandervoort, M.D., Anniston

Fourth District

  • Evelyn V. Mauldin, Leighton
  • Scott M. Phelps, Tuscaloosa, President pro tempore

Fifth District

  • Ronald W. Gray, Huntsville
  • Jeff Gronberg, Huntsville

Sixth District

  • W. Stancil "Stan" Starnes, Birmingham

Seventh District

  • Karen P. Brooks, Tuscaloosa
  • Kenneth Simon, Birmingham
  • Barbara Humphrey, Birmingham

Trustees Emeriti

  • Paul W. Bryant Jr., Tuscaloosa
  • Angus R. Cooper II, Mobile
  • John England Jr., Tuscaloosa 
  • Joseph Espy III, Montgomery
  • Joseph L. Fine, Montgomery
  • Andria Scott Hurst, Birmingham
  • John D. Johns, Birmingham
  • Peter L. Lowe, Huntsville
  • John J. McMahon Jr., Birmingham
  • Joe H. Ritch, Huntsville
  • William "Britt" Sexton, Decatur
  • Finis E. St. John IV, Tuscaloosa
  • Cleophus Thomas Jr., Anniston
  • John Russell Thomas, Alexander City


  • Sid J. Trant, Interim Chancellor

Officers of the University

  • Stuart R. Bell, President
  • James T. Dalton, Executive Vice President and Provost
  • G. Christine Taylor, Vice President for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion 
  • Cheryl Mowdy, Interim Vice President for Finance and Operations 
  • Bryan W. Boudouris, Vice President for Research and Economic Development
  • Samory T. Pruitt, Vice President for Community Affairs
  • Ryan Bradley, Vice President for Strategic Communications
  • Steven Hood, Vice President for Student Life
  • Bob Pierce, Vice President for Advancement

Academic Divisions of the University

College of Arts and Sciences (1910)

  • Joseph P. Messina, Dean

Culverhouse College of Business (1919)

  • Kay M. Palan, Dean

College of Communication and Information Sciences (1973)

  • Brian S. Butler, Dean

College of Community Health Sciences (1971)

  • Richard Friend, Dean

College of Education (1909)

  • Joyce Alexander, Dean 

College of Engineering (1909)

  • Clifford L. Henderson, Dean

Graduate School (1924)

  • Susan Carvalho, Dean

Honors College (2003)

  • Tiffany Sippial, Dean

College of Human Environmental Sciences (1931)

  • Stuart Usdan, Dean

School of Law (1872)

  • William S. Brewbaker III, Dean

Capstone College of Nursing (1976)

  • Julie Sanford, Dean

School of Social Work (1965)

  • Schnavia Smith Hatcher, Dean