The Rural Medical Scholars Program, which is also operated by the College of Community Health Sciences, prepares outstanding rural scholars for family medicine or primary care practice in Alabama. Scholars selected to participate in the program, which is exclusively for students from rural Alabama, enroll in preparatory courses at The University of Alabama. Upon completion of their studies, they must meet the requirements for admission to medical school. Students matriculate two years at The University of Alabama School of Medicine in Birmingham for the basic medical sciences component of their curricula and then return to Tuscaloosa to the College for the clinical clerkship years. Here, where they are also involved in special medical experiences that include rural preceptorships. For more information about the Rural Medical Scholars Program, contact: Dr. James Leeper, professor and director of educational programs, Department of Community and Rural Medicine, College of Community Health Sciences, (205) 348-1355 or